Creating a Professional Learning Network

image-1000x1287

This weekend I expanded my Professional Learning Network on Twitter and I’m excited to use these individuals and groups to expand my knowledge of how to incorporate and utilize technology effectively in my future classroom. I picked a variety of different Professionals to follow–from teachers to Educational companies to government organization–so that I am getting information and ideas from a wide array of sources.

I haven’t used Twitter as a professional resource yet this year. I’ve used Pinterest a lot to get ideas for how to make learning fun and engaging, but I think that my professional learning network on Twitter will help me focus on the tech side of teaching.

I found a great list of 20 Tips for Creating a Professional Learning NetworkBecome a beacon of light.  PLNs rely on open sharing of information.  So if you know something, share it!  It’s best to start with a specific interest and then grow into other topics as time goes on. Become an expert in your niche by researching current trends.  This will draw a larger following on your network, because you can provide a novel source of information.  . Here are a few of the ones I want to make sure to follow:

  1. “Become a beacon of light.  PLNs rely on open sharing of information.  So if you know something, share it!  It’s best to start with a specific interest and then grow into other topics as time goes on. Become an expert in your niche by researching current trends.  This will draw a larger following on your network, because you can provide a novel source of information.”
  2. Don’t be afraid to ask questions.  After all, PLNs are all about learning.  But don’t ask questions that you can easily research yourself.  Try simple searches on TED talks, Wikis, blogs, or news articles before posting a question. Try to be specific and think of how a question might generate interest from others.  For example, you may want to refer to an article or research study when asking a question.  Be specific!  This will generate the best answers.”
  3. Remember to be polite and acknowledge contributions to the rightful owner. Show common respect for the people in your network.  This may seem like common sense, but can be a pitfall.  It took me some time to learn “web etiquette” over the years, but it has helped me tremendously.   Send thank you notes, acknowledgements, and use your true voice.  Not only does it make the other person’s day, but it will help you gain more meaningful connections.”

In essence, I want to be introduced to new content, learn new ways to use technology in the classroom, and stay up to date on new trends. I can’t wait to see what I learn from these various resources!

Leave a Reply

